Istanbul Basaksehir claim first ever Turkish league title

Istanbul Basaksehir are the new champions of Turkey after beating Kayserispor 1-0. After a second place and third place in the Superlig, Istanbul have finally collected their first ever championship in Turkey. The club has a seven point lead on Trabzonspor with one game to go, making it impossible to lose their lead.

Basaksehir is a new club in Turkey as they were originally founded in 1990, but have been on a professional level since 2007/2008. The club is partially owned by the Ministry of Youth and Sports in Turkey, which has made the assumption that Basaksehir is a government club that is being funded with money from president Recep Erdogan.

The club has been at the Turkish top level since 2014 and has been performing wonders. They managed to reach several top five places over the past few years, but have now beaten the big teams like Galatasaray, Fenerbahce and Besiktas to claim their first ever title. The Basaksehir has some big names including Robinho, Demba Ba, Gael Clichy and Martin Skrtel.

This season Basaksehir has been the best team in Turkey. The side of coach Okan Buruk has collected 69 points from 33 games. They have won 20 games while losing four games over the season. Edin Visca and Ba are the club’s top goal scorers with 12 goals each.