Manchester United break penalty record, Watford concede most spot-kicks

Manchester United have broken the Premier League record for most penalties in a single season. The Red Devils were awarded their 14th penalty off the season and with that spot-kick they broke the record held by Leicester City of 13 awarded penalties during their title winning season in 2016.

Ole Gunnar Solskjaer’s side have been awarded the most penalties throughout the season with Manchester City following their city rivals with 11 penalties. Watford are the surprising third on the list. The Hornets, who were relegated out of the Premier League on Sunday have been awarded 8 penalties during the season.

The clubs with the least penalties awarded during the season are Sheffield United, Everton and Newcastle United. They all received only a single penalty over the entire season, with the Magpies failing to convert it as they are the only team in the league to have not scored a goal from the penalty spot this season.

There are three clubs in total to have conceded the most penalties: Watford, Leicester City and Manchester United. These three clubs conceded a total of 17 penalties. Southampton have the best saving percentage when it comes to penalties. The Saints conceded nine spot-kicks and saved four, which gives them the best saving percentage of the league: 45.5%