9 Premier League clubs asked CAS to deny Man City’s appeal

A total of nine clubs have asked the CAS to deny the appeal made by Manchester City against the European ban they received from the UEFA. The CAS released more information about the appeal from Man City and it showed the names of the nine clubs who asked to deny the appeal.

The nine Premier League clubs who made the application were Arsenal, Burnley, Chelsea, Leicester City, Liverpool, Manchester United, Newcastle United, Tottenham Hotspur and Wolverhampton Wanderers.

CAS also released a statement that Man City showed a ‘blatant disregard’ to co-operate with the UEFA’s investigation into potential Financial Fair Play breaches. “The panel is of the view that Uefa by no means filed frivolous charges against City but based on the evidence the panel cannot reach the conclusion that disguised funding was paid to City,” the report, released on Tuesday, said.

It added: “City’s failure to co-operate with the investigation is a severe breach and City are to be seriously reproached.” Despite the statement CAS decided to lift Man City’s two-year ban from Europe while they also lowered €30m fine to €10m.