Bayern Munich dominate Champions League 2019-20 positional awards

Bayern Munich have – as expected – dominated the UEFA Champions League 2019-20 positional awards nominations. The German club won the European trophy in August after beating Paris Saint-Germain 1-0 in the final. On Thursday the UEFA announced the nominees for the Champions League goalkeeper, defender, midfielder and forward of the year.

It is not a big surprise that champions Bayern Munich have the most players in the running for one of the positional awards. A total of seven Bayern players have been nominated. Manuel Neuer has been nominated as the best goalkeeper of the 2019-20 season while David Alaba, Alphonso Davies, Joshua Kimmich will decide who will be the best defender of the Champions League.

For the best midfielder Thomas Muller and Thiago Alcantara have been nominated and they will face competition from Manchester City ace Kevin de Bruyne. For the forward of the year nobody will be able to look past top scorer Robert Lewandowski. The Polish striker will be facing competition from two Paris Saint-Germain stars: Kylian Mbappe and Neymar.

Goalkeepers: Keylor Navas (Paris Saint-Germain), Manuel Neuer (Bayern), Jan Oblak (Atlético de Madrid)

Defenders: David Alaba (Bayern), Alphonso Davies (Bayern), Joshua Kimmich (Bayern)

Midfielders: Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City), Thomas Müller (Bayern), Thiago Alcántara (Bayern)

Forwards: Robert Lewandowski (Bayern), Kylian Mbappé (Paris Saint-Germain), Neymar (Paris Saint-Germain)

Leave a Reply