UEFA Coach of the Year nominees is an all-German affair

The UEFA released the list of nominees for their prestigious yearly awards on Wednesday. Next to the Player of the Year, the European footballing government also released the shortlist for the Manager of the Year award. Jurgen Klopp (Liverpool), Julian Nagelsmann (RB Leipzig) and Hansi Flick (Bayern Munich) are nominated in what seems to be an ‘all-German affair’. The winner of the award will be announced on October 1st during the UEFA ceremony in Nyon.

For the first time in the history of the award the UEFA has nominated three coaches from the same country. The three German coaches have all performed admirably during the 2019-20 season and all deserve the nomination. Klopp did not enjoy the best season in Europe with Liverpool but the coach won the Premier League as Liverpool ended a 30-year title drought in England.

Nagelsmann enjoyed a very good season at RB Leipzig. Not only did he help the club finish in third position in the German Bundesliga, he also steered the club to the semi-final of the Champions League, beating Tottenham Hotspur and Atletico Madrid on their way to the semi’s. Paris Saint-Germain appeared to be a bridge too far for Leipzig but their performances have been hailed.

The third nominee is Bayern coach Hansi Flick. The former second team coach was appointed as the caretaker boss at the club after they sacked Niko Kovac earlier this season. The caretaker became the boss later on in the season after he managed to overcome an eight point gap and win the Bundesliga. He then won the DFB Pokal by beating Bayer Leverkusen in the final in Berlin before he completed the infamous treble by winning the Champions League.

Leave a Reply